Home Page

Religious Education

Religious Education at Manor Oak 


We are required, by law, to teach the National Curriculum and Religious Education.

Parents may request that their child be excused from religious education and/or attendance at collective worship through reasons of religious conscience. If this is the case, please provide a letter addressed to the Head Teacher.



Teaching RE is part of our duty to promote the spiritual, moral, social and cultural education of pupils, enabling pupils to appreciate the values and attitudes of different faith groups and the effects that these have on the community. Pupils are given an awareness, knowledge and understanding of the features, ideas and practices of the focused religions, encouraging sensitivity to the differences of faiths and fostering an atmosphere of tolerance and goodwill to others. An attitude of respect towards others and willingness to ask questions are, we believe, more important than a detailed knowledge of every practise.


At Manor Oak, we follow the 2013 Bromley Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education. Children learn about the following world religions:








They are required to Learn about religions and Learn from religion and human experience.


Within KS1 Christianity, Hinduism, Islam and Judaism are studied.


Within KS2 Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Buddhism and Sikhism are studied.


The Christian festivals of Easter and Christmas are a focus in each year group. They are taught progressively to ensure children build on their knowledge and understanding. 


There are themes that underpin learning and are developed progressively as the children move through the school.


Theme Units:


Year 1 - ‘Why are we thankful?’ which links family and home, school and community and religious belief.

Year 2 - ‘Why are some things special?’ which looks at special foods, artefacts and different beliefs.

Year 3 - ‘Why should we take care of our world?’

Year 4 - ‘Why do you judge me?’

Year 5 - ‘Pilgrimages’

Year 6 - ‘Journey of Life’


Within these themes the key attitudes of commitment, open-mindedness, respect, self-esteem, appreciation and wonder are promoted.

The key skills of enquiry, investigation, interpreting, reflecting, empathising, analysing, synthesising and expressing are developed.

Wherever possible learning is linked to other areas or the curriculum.